History - Ebook

The Atomic Bomb

On August 6 and 9, 1945, in the last significant blows of World War II, American B-29 bombers dropped atomic warheads on the Japanese cities of Hiroshima and...

Hitler and the Habsburgs: The Führer's Vendetta Against the Austrian Royals

A stunning work of narrative history revealing how and why Adolf Hitler targeted the children of the assassinated Archduke Franz Ferdinand, making the...

Bletchley Park Brainteasers: The World War II Codebreakers Who Beat the Enigma Machine--And More Than 100 Puzzles and Riddles That Inspired Them

WOULD BLETCHLEY PARK--THE TOP-SECRET HOME OF BRITISH WORLD WAR II CODEBREAKERS--HAVE RECRUITED YOU?PUT YOUR MENTAL AGILITY TO THE TEST WITH THESE FIENDISHLY...

The Big Book of Senior Moments: Humorous Jokes and Anecdotes as a Reminder That We All Forget

Old age isn’t for wimps, nor is it for those without a sense of humor. The Big Book of Senior Moments is chock full of those small blunders, momentary lapses...

Marooned: Jamestown, Shipwreck, and a New History of America’s Origin

For readers of Nathaniel Philbrick's Mayflower, a groundbreaking history that makes the case for replacing Plymouth Rock with Jamestown as America's founding...

The House of Islam: A Global History

“Ed Husain has become one of the most vital Muslim voices in the world. The House of Islam could very well be his magnum opus.” -Reza Aslan, #1 New York...

How Do We Look: The Body, the Divine, and the Question of Civilization 1st Edition

From prehistoric Mexico to modern Istanbul, Mary Beard looks beyond the familiar canon of Western imagery to explore the history of art, religion, and...

Moon Florida

From Pensacola and the Panhandle, to Miami beaches and mingling with Mickey, Moon Florida reveals the best of the Sunshine State. Inside you'll find:Flexible...

Women of the Blue and Gray: True Stories of Mothers, Medics, Soldiers, and Spies of the Civil War

Hidden amongst the photographs, uniforms, revolvers, and war medals of the Civil War are the remarkable stories of some of the most unlikely heroes--women....

Watermelons, Nooses, and Straight Razors: Stories from the Jim Crow Museum

Watermelons, Nooses, and Straight Razors examines the origins and significance of several longstanding anti-black stories and the caricatures and stereotypes...

Anarchist's Guide to Historic House Museums 1st Edition

In these days of an aging traditional audience, shrinking attendance, tightened budgets, increased competition, and exponential growth in new types of...

Born to Glory: The Vegas Golden Knights' Historic Inaugural Season

The Vegas Golden Knights' astonishing run to the Stanley Cup Final in their inaugural season captured the attention of hockey fans everywhere in 2018....

No Malice: My Life in Basketball or: How a Kid from Queensbridge Survived the Streets, the Brawls, and Himself to Become an NBA Champion

Metta World Peace knows what it means to be both the hero and the villain. In his 17-season professional basketball career, he's darted back and forth...

River, Reaper, Rail: Agriculture and Identity in Ohio’s Mad River Valley, 1795–1885

River, Reaper, Rail: Agriculture and Identity in Ohio's Mad River Valley, 1795–1885 tells the story of farmers and technology in Ohio's Champaign County and...

A Hangman's Diary: The Journal of Master Franz Schmidt, Public Executioner of Nuremberg, 1573-1617

From 1573 to 1617, Master Franz Schmidt was the executioner for the towns of Bamberg and Nuremberg. During that span, he personally executed more than 350...

Search widget

Socialize

Binance